An Exercise In SAT Words… And My Frustration

This week, I was told that the words I use are too big.

(A bit of context for you: I was at work, where I spend my days in business dress, with some fairly educated, intelligent people. I wasn’t talking to a bunch of preschoolers, nor was I speaking to a group of ESL students. )

At the time, I was giving a job interview with a fellow manager and after the applicant left, Fellow Manager and I sat down to talk about our impressions.  Fellow Manager had some notes for me as well.

“Sometimes, Lauren, you use really big words. And it can be… a bit much.”

Ouch. Not the greatest thing to hear about oneself, particularly when I was expecting to talk about hiring. (When did this become about me?) Still, I was bugged but not surprised, as this now marks the third time my vocabulary has been mentioned as a negative in the workplace.  To say nothing of the teasing in elementary school and sotto voce digs that surrounded me in high school English class.

Here’s the thing; I really don’t feel as though my vocabulary is such a stretch. I DON’T use big words. My every day A to Z language choices don’t generally include words like ameliorate or zeitgeist. In fact, the second time my verbiage was mentioned at work, I was hauled into a managers’ office for using the word “equality” in a team meeting. Up until that day, I had never really thought of equality (both the word and the concept) as any particular brain-buster, but you can consider me corrected, Boss.

To be fair, I’m not always wholly aware of the words I am using. Measured speech isn’t exactly my forte. (Is forte a big word? And on that note, do people mean that my words are large or do they mean complex when they say “too big?” To my knowledge, I have never actually used the word antidisestablishmentarianism in a sentence, and that’s the baddest mama-jama of a word there is, outside of medical terminology. But I digress.) I tend to speak quickly and my memory isn’t always the sharpest – so while I can probably give you the gist of what I said, someone would have to take dictation for me to be able to tell you my exact wording. So there’s that.

Still. I like words. I always have. I’ve been a voracious reader since the age of four, a writer for almost as long, and you don’t love books and language like I do without picking up a few things here and there.  Picking up, say, the subtle nuances between the words affect and effect. Or the beauty of a well-turned phrase. The liberation one feels the first time they use a challenging word properly. I just wish everyone knew or wanted to know the joys of language.

Because I’m concerned. Concerned that I am living in a world where people scream their political ideologies from the rooftops, but don’t know how to spell them. A world where, as in the satirical movie, Idiocracy, we’ve devolved to the point where “Uhhhh… you’re retarded” constitutes insightful observation. A world where I am told that my ability to express myself intelligently has become my issue to overcome, rather than someone else’s educational deficiency.

I feel like Chris Tucker in Rush Hour. “DO YOU UNDERSTAND THE WORDS THAT ARE COMING OUT OF MY MOUTH?” And I could do one of two things. I could choose to dum down my talking skillz. Pepper my sentences with “OMG” and enough “likes” to make Facebook proud. Or, I could continue to speak well in the hopes that the grand oral history that has marked the human race as a brilliant feat of evolutionary excellence will someday make a comeback. I choose the latter, thankyouverymuch.

This week I was told that the words I use are too big. But you know what? No. I’m taking a stand because someone has to for all the words that aren’t “a” and “the” out there. You say the words I use are too big? Well, you know what? The words you use are too small. In fact, they’re damned diminutive. Deal with it.

/stepping off soapbox

5 Responses to “An Exercise In SAT Words… And My Frustration”

  1. Brilliant!!! Well said!

  2. Nicholas Ramsey Says:

    Lauren, great piece. I especially like the links to the words.

    That being said, I, like you, found myself able to read at a young age. I learned by watching television. I’d write down the names of shows and the people who worked on them, and that’s how I learned.
    Apparently my mother noticed this on a trip to the dentist when I was 2, when I began to read Time magazine.

    I am a strange creature.

    As I got older, I found that if I talked to someone who didn’t understand, it made them feel weak, and that I in turn, was made to look as if I was trying to be superior.

    Yet I was. I wanted people to know, in a largely egoic manner, that I was smart.

    I realized by the time I left school that only one thing matters: Communicating with the other person. What does it serve another person to use a word if you don’t understand it?

    Nothing. Communication in itself is sometimes difficult without words. So why should someone have to walk to a dictionary or their word-of-the-day calendar to understand you, when you can just as intelligently present what you’re trying to convey with a simpler one?

    Now, you don’t try to go there. I have had plenty of conversations with you where I have never heard you say anything that I found difficult to understand.

    My point concerns the other person. They don’t get it; it does not serve them. And that makes them feel weak. And it makes you, through no fault of your own, look like you’re trying to be superior.

    Your boss should have conveyed this better. Maybe suggesting that you put it in layman’s terms. The dressing down was unnecessary.

  3. After going through experiences similar to the ones you describe, and after going through a time where I consciously chose to dumb down my vocabulary in order to ensure that I was understood, I decided to express myself in a way I found comfortable. Me talking dumber doesn’t help the other person get smarter.

    • Nicholas Ramsey Says:

      No, of course not. You should do what you feel is comfortable.

      But one could also argue that it’s not your responsibility to educate someone else. Unless of course, you’re their parent or their teacher.

  4. OMG, that was, like, amazeballs..Ha ha. Well said Lauren, big words ‘n’ all. Loved it.

    From a fellow ‘wordy’.

Leave a comment